Eight new trustees elected to Cornell board

At its May 26 meeting, the Cornell Board of Trustees elected three new trustees to four-year terms: Ooi Lee (William) Lim ’80, MAR ’82; Aryan Shayegani ’88, M.D. ’92; and Bradley H. Stone ’77.

They join recent alumni-elected trustees John O. Boochever ’81 and Yonn K. Rasmussen ’83, M.S. ’86, Ph.D. ’89, who will serve four-year terms, as will faculty-elected trustee Melissa A. Hines. Graduate student-elected trustee Manisha A. Munasinghe was elected to a two-year term. And Jeramy Kruser will fill a midterm vacancy as employee-elected trustee.

The new trustees’ terms begin July 1.

Also at the May 26 meeting, eight current trustees were re-elected to four-year terms: Richard A. Baker ’88; Elizabeth C. Everett Krisberg ’97; Leland C. Pillsbury ’69; Bruce S. Raynor ’72; Gene D. Resnick ’70, M.D. ’74; Ratan N. Tata ’59, B.Arch. ’62; and Michael A. Troy ’81.

Profiles of the newly elected trustees:

Boochever is chief digital strategy and innovation officer for Atlas Research, a veteran-owned small business providing services to federal health agencies. He is a member of the Cornell University Council and the Cornell Alumni Advisory Board, and he is the Class of 1981 Annual Fund Representative. He previously served three terms on the College of Arts and Sciences Advisory Council and chaired the Cornell Alumni Trustee Nominating Committee.

Hines, professor of chemistry and chemical biology, researches turning molecular-scale pictures of surfaces into quantitative information about chemical reactivity. She is using these techniques to obtain new insights into the photocatalytic behavior of earth-abundant minerals and to help design new materials capable of producing ultrabright electron beams. Hines joined the Cornell faculty in 1994 and directed the Cornell Center for Materials Research for 12 years. She is a Weiss presidential fellow.

Kruser is an applications systems analyst in Student Services Information Technology. He was elected to the Employee Assembly and has developed relationships across campus. He is part of the campus groups Veteran’s Colleague Network and Creating a Culture of Respect, and he has served several Ithaca-area organizations as a volunteer. Among his plans for his board service are advocating for more local outreach to cultivate relationships with campus neighbors.

Lim is managing director of CL3 Architects in Hong Kong, and is an artist and art collector. He is a fellow of the American Institute of Architects and serves on the Tate Modern Asia Pacific Acquisition Committee. He is a member of the Cornell China Advisory Board and the College of Architecture, Art and Planning Advisory Council; he previously served on the University Council and the Major Gifts Committee.

Munasinghe, Ph.D. ’20, will serve as a member of the board’s Committee on Student Life, the Committee on Academic Affairs, the Trustee Community Communications Committee, and the Task Force on Student, Faculty and Staff Diversity. She has been a strong advocate for undergraduate and graduate students, and has served the Graduate and Professional Student Assembly and the University Assembly.

Rasmussen is vice president of the Xerographic Component Systems Group at Xerox Corp. She holds 29 patents and is passionate about innovation and commercialization of technology into products in the marketplace. Rasmussen is a member of the Cornell University Council, the Department of Materials Science and Engineering’s Advisory Board and the President’s Council of Cornell Women, for which she chairs the Alumnae Engagement Committee.

Shayegani is an ophthalmologist and assistant clinical professor of ophthalmology at the Yale University School of Medicine, specializing in cornea and external diseases. She takes an active interest in children’s charities. In 2014, she joined the Cornell University Council and became a member of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Advisory Council in 2015 and the Dean’s Executive Committee in 2016.

Stone is president of Global Gaming Asset Management, which advises, invests in, acquires and manages hospitality and gaming assets globally. He has held management positions at several metropolitan New York City hotels and was executive vice president of Las Vegas Sands Corp. from 1995-2009. He serves on the School of Hotel Administration’s Dean’s Advisory Board and is a member of the Cornell SC Johnson College of Business Leadership Council.

This story also appeared in the Cornell Chronicle.

More news

View all news
		 McGraw Tower