"Being around so many incredibly intelligent and hard-working people has been humbling."

Iva Karoly-Lister '15 

Major: Feminist, Gender & Sexuality Studies and Chemistry & Chemical Biology
Hometown: Anchorage, AK

Why did you choose Cornell?
My grandma went to Cornell and told me I should go here. She's always been one of my greatest role models so I thought it would be cool to spend time in the same places that she did.

What is your main Cornell extracurricular activity -- why is it important to you?
I play violin in the orchestra and work at Manndible Cafe. Playing violin is important to me because it allows me to express myself and connect to others in a way that I can't with language.

What was your most profound turning point while at Cornell?
Taking Mary Katzenstein's "Prisons" class made me think critically about race, gender, and class in a way that I never had before.

What, if any, Cornell-related scholarships/special financial benefits did you receive?
I receive a scholarship from the Alaska alumni group.

What accomplishments/activities are you most proud of while at Cornell?
I am most proud of completing an honors thesis in FGSS.

What, if any, research projects did you participate in at Cornell?
My honors thesis explored the connections between policy on violence against Alaska Native women, Alaska frontier politics, and formulations of sovereignty.

Who or what influenced your Cornell education the most? How or why?
The friends I've made here have influenced my education the most by supporting me and being open to hearing about my interests and telling me about theirs.

How did any of your beliefs or interests change during your time at Cornell?
Being around so many incredibly intelligent and hard-working people at Cornell has been a humbling experience. I think that I've learned to talk less and listen more, expect less and be more grateful.

What do you value about your liberal arts education?
I value the opportunity to explore different ways of problem solving by taking a range of classes in science and the humanities and meeting people with disparate interests and approaches.

What are your plans for next year; where do you see yourself in 10 years?
After a summer back home, I plan to either get a job in Portland and/or teach English in Spain. 10 years from now I see myself having an awesome garden, living near my family, having good friends, and being the facilitator of a radical ecofeminist girl scout troop.

Iva Karoly-Lister