Abruña elected to National Academy of Sciences

May 2, 2018

The Department of Chemistry & Chemical Biology congratulates Professor Héctor "Tito" Abruña on being elected to the National Academy of Sciences. According to The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) Website: The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars. Established by an Act of Congress, signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863, the NAS is charged with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology. Scientists are elected by their peers to membership in the NAS for outstanding contributions to research. The NAS is committed to furthering science in America, and its members are active contributors to the international scientific community. Abruña is among the 84 new members and 21 foreign associates elected to NAS in recognition of his distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

For more information about the research in the Abruña laboratory, please visit the Abruña Group Website.

Abruña's election into the NAS was covered by the Cornell Chronicle.

Professor Héctor D. Abruña